Conditioning and ventilation systems in health care facilities

Conditioning and ventilation systems in health care institutions

The word “ventilation” derived from Latin and means “airing”. In fact, ventilation is a system of removing air from the room and its replacement by special air required for this room. This process may involve using additional systems such as air conditioning, filtration, ionization, heating or cooling, dehumidification or humidification – depending on the requirements for the air in a particular room.

Typically, ventilation is designed to ensure hygienic conditions for human well-being and for carrying out technological processes etc.

The main task of ventilation systems is to fight with harmful emissions, like excessive heat, moisture, gases, dust and other substances.

Absolutely all ventilation systems are characterized by capacity (volume of air flowing through the system per hour), static pressure or air pressure, calorifier capacity and noise level.

Depending on the size, location, and, most importantly, the purpose of the unit, specific parameters are selected in accordance with current building regulations.

Healthcare specialists have proved a direct correlation between the quality of the air inhaled and human well-being. This explains the importance of using ventilation and air conditioning systems in healthcare institutions, where it comes to life and health of patients and medical staff. However, special requirements are specified for the organization of units in medical institutions.

The requirements are specified in building regulations. Thus in the “Construction norms and rules” document 2.08.02-89, installation of air conditioning is obligatory in: surgical, anesthesia, prenatal, delivery and recovery units, resuscitation and intensive care units, in 1-bed and 2-bed wards for patients with burns, in wards for infants, newborns, premature newborns, traumatized children, in the halls of hyperbaric units and many other hospital areas.

And it is no coincidence it is so. After all, hospitals and other medical institutions with a faulty HVAC system can endanger the health of patients. Therefore, air entering the unit boxes and passing through bacteriological cleaning offices equipped with special filters. In addition, air cleaning systems include different settings for setting the levels of air humidity. For example, according to current standards, air humidity level in surgical units, recovery and delivery units should not exceed 55-60%, while the mobility should not exceed 0.15 m/s in order to avoid drafts.

Системы вентиляции и кондиционирования в медицинских учреждениях

Слово вентиляция произошло от латинского слова проветривание и, по сути, является системой удаления воздуха из помещения и его замену на требуемый. При этом могут использоваться дополнительные системы, такие как: кондиционирование, фильтрация, ионизация, охлаждение или подогрев, осушение или увлажнение в зависимости от требований, предъявляемых воздуху в конкретном помещении.

Как правило, вентиляция призвана обеспечивать санитарно-гигиенические условия для наиболее комфортного самочувствия человека, технологических процессов и многого другого.

Главная задача систем вентиляции – борьба с вредными выделениями: избыточным теплом, влагой, газами, пылью и иными веществами.

Абсолютно все системы вентиляции характеризуются по производительности (объёмы воздуха, проходящего за час через систему), статическому давлению или напору воздуха, мощности калофилера и уровню шума.

В зависимости от размера, расположения и, самое важное, назначения помещения подбираются конкретные параметры в соответствии с действующими СНиПами.

Врачами установлена прямая зависимость между качеством вдыхаемого воздуха и самочувствием человека. Этим обусловлена значимость вентиляции и кондиционирования в медицинских учреждениях, где речь идёт о жизни и здоровье пациентов и медицинского персонала. Однако именно к ее организации в медицинских учреждениях предъявляются особые требования.

Они прописаны в строительных нормах и правилах. Так в СНиП 2.08.02-89, кондиционирование воздуха является обязательным: в операционных, наркозных, предродовых, родовых, послеоперационных палатах, реанимационных залах, палатах интенсивной терапии, в однокоечных и двухкоечных палатах для больных с ожогами, в палатах для грудных, новорожденных, недоношенных, травмированных детей, в залах барокамер и многих других больничных помещениях.

Это не случайно. Ведь работа больницы и другого медицинского учреждения с неисправной системой вентиляции и кондиционирования может привести к ухудшению здоровья пациентов. Поэтому воздух, поступающий в блоки, боксы и отделения подвергается бактериологической очистке, проходя через специальные фильтры. Помимо этого, для очистки воздуха используются различные системы и установки для придания воздуху различных уровней влажности. Так, например, согласно действующим стандартам, уровень влажности воздуха в операционном зале, родовых и послеоперационных палатах должна составлять не более 55-60%, а подвижность не превышать 0,15 м/с во избежание сквозняков.